Home > About the IESO > Board of Directors > Bruce Lourie, Board of Directors

Bruce Lourie, Board of Directors

Bruce Lourie was appointed to the IESO Board of Directors on January 1, 2015. Prior to that, he served on the board of the Ontario Power Authority since October 1, 2008.

Mr. Lourie is President of the Ivey Foundation, a private charitable foundation in Canada. He is a Director of Philanthropic Foundations Canada and Canadians for Clean Prosperity. He also sits on the Advisory Board of Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission.

Mr. Lourie is well known for his work in convening collaborative efforts among businesses, non-governmental organizations and government, including for the Canadian Boreal Forest Agreement, one of the world’s largest conservation initiatives. He has played a pioneering role in connecting environmental issues to human health, most notably with his leadership in the effort to phase out coal-fired power plants in Ontario, the single largest climate action in North America.

Mr. Lourie is the co-author of two best-selling books, including the internationally acclaimed Slow Death by Rubber Duck. He is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society of Canada and an honorary director of the Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment. In 2015, Mr. Lourie received the Bryden Award for Outstanding Achievement, York University's top alumni recognition. In 2014, he received Earth Day Canada’s Outstanding Commitment to the Environment Award.

Mr. Lourie is a founder of a number of for-profit and non-profit organizations including Summerhill Group, the Sustainability Network and the Canadian Environmental Grantmakers’ Network. He has acted on numerous international, federal, provincial and municipal bodies advising on environmental, energy and health policy issues.

Mr. Lourie holds a Bachelor of Science degree in geology and a Master’s degree in environmental studies.