Greater Bruce/Huron

The regional planning process for Greater Bruce/Huron is underway to identify the future need of electricity and options to ensure an adequate and reliable supply continues to be provided for its residents and businesses.

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities. Learn more about engagement on the current planning cycle.

Area Overview

The Greater Bruce/Huron area is located in southwestern Ontario. The region comprises the counties of Bruce, Huron and Perth, as well as portions of Grey, Lambton, Wellington, Waterloo, Oxford and Middlesex counties.

The local distribution companies (LDCs) providing service to customers in the Greater Bruce/Huron region include:

Entegrus Power Lines Inc.

ERTH Power Corp.

Festival Hydro Inc.

Hydro One Networks Inc.

Wellington North Power Inc.

Westario Power Inc.

Regional Planning Process Status

A new cycle of regional electricity planning has commenced with the completion a Needs Assessment by Hydro One and Scoping Assessment Outcome Report led by the IESO working with the LDCs and transmitter in the region.

The first cycle of regional planning did not identify needs requiring regional coordination, and concluded in August 2017 with the release of a Regional Infrastructure Plan (“RIP”) by the local transmitter (Hydro One). A Local Plan to address anticipated overloading of circuits was developed, and the condition is being actively monitored in the event mitigation measures needs to be triggered. Projects to address the frequency and duration of outages were also contemplated in the plan, and will be executed in the near-term. The expected load growth in the Kincardine area that was previously identified has been deferred based on an updated forecast.