Skip Links
Corporate IESO > Leadership > Board of Directors > Timothy O'Neill, Chair


The IESO President and CEO and Leadership Team are responsible for implementing the strategic direction and initiatives for the organization in keeping with its statutory objectives. They also provide advice and recommendations to the IESO Board of Directors.

Timothy O'Neill, Chair

Timothy O'Neill, DirectorTimothy O'Neill was appointed to the IESO Board of Directors on January 1, 2015. Prior to that, he served as Chair of the former IESO board since December 8, 2010. He was named Chair of the current IESO board on July 20, 2015. 

Dr. O'Neill is currently the President of O'Neill Strategic Economics and also chairs the national Joint Grants Committee for the United Church of Canada. He has been a Visiting Professor at Duke University as well as a Director of the Canadian Employment Insurance Financing Board. 

After retiring from BMO Financial Group, where he served as Executive Vice-President and Chief Economist, he was the first H. Ian MacDonald Visiting Economist with the Ontario government. He served as President of the Atlantic Provinces Economic Council after teaching in the Department of Economics at St. Mary's University in Halifax for 12 years. He has served as a consultant to several provincial governments as well as the federal government.

Dr. O'Neill is the first Canadian economist to be elected to the Board of Governors of the Washington-based National Association for Business Economics, where he served as President from October 2002 until September 2003.