The primary objective of the Forum is to advance and leverage the development of the Ontario Smart Grid by focusing on the high-level policy and regulatory aspects of emerging, smart grid related issues over a long-term horizon, with a particular focus on, but not limited to:

  • smart energy networks
  • innovation, job creation and economic development
  • maximizing customer value

Terms of Reference

See the terms of reference for more information about Ontario's Smart Grid Forum.

Members of Ontario Smart Grid Forum

Bruce Campbell, President and CEO, IESO, and Chair, Ontario Smart Grid Forum

Michael Angemeer, President and CEO, Veridian Corporation

David Collie, President and CEO, Electrical Safety Authority

Jonathan Dogterom, Practice Lead, Cleantech, MaRS Discovery District

Norm Fraser, Chief Operating Officer, Hydro Ottawa Limited

Mark Isherwood, Vice President, Infranchise Sales, Marketing and Customer Care, Union Gas Limited

David McFadden, Chair, Ontario Centres of Excellence

William Milroy, Vice President, Engineering and Operations, London Hydro

Dr. Jatin Nathwani, Professor and Ontario Research Chair in Public Policy and Sustainable Energy Management, Faculties of Engineering and Environmental Studies, University of Waterloo

Mike Penstone, Vice-President, Planning, Hydro One Inc.  

Raymond Tracey, CEO, Essex Power

Neetika Sathe, Vice President, Corporate Development and Smart Grid Technologies, PowerStream Inc.

Joe Van Schaik, Electric Power Market Manager at Tormont Cat

Darryl Yahoda, Director, Resource Development and Strategy, IESO

Terry Young, Vice President, Conservation & Corporate Relations, IESO


Brian Hewson, Senior Manager, Strategic Policy, Ontario Energy Board

Sunita Chander, Director, Distribution and Agency Policy Branch, Strategic, Network and Agency Policy Division, Ontario Ministry of Energy

Corporate Partners Committee

To complement the work of the Ontario Smart Grid Forum, a committee of private sector interests in the smart grid space was created by the Forum to provide advice, support and insight. The Corporate Partners Committee helps identify the practical barriers to implementation and proposing constructive, pragmatic, as well as cost and time effective solutions for consideration by the Smart Grid Forum. The Ontario Energy Association (OEA) provides administrative support to the Committee on behalf of the Forum.

The Committee comprises representatives from the manufacturing, telecommunications, retailing, research, service and consulting sectors. As of September 2012, the Corporate Partners Committee includes:

129 Group

Aird & Berlis LLP

Alpha Energy



Blackstone Energy Solutions

Direct Energy





Enbala Power Networks



ERTH Corporation

General Electric

General Motors




IBM Canada

International Solar Solutions

ITK Vector


Kangaroo Group

KHC Innovation

KMDR Research


LocalGrid Technologies

MaRS Advanced Energy Centre - Ron Dizy Committee Chair

Ontario Energy Association

Ontario Centres of Excellence




Region of Peel

Rodan Energy Solutions

Rogers Communications

S&C Electric

Sault Ste. Marie Innovation Centre


Signal Hill Digital Law

Soft Grid Analytics

Summitt Energy

Sustainable Resources Management

Temporal Power

The New Energy Group

Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

TrustPoint Innovation Technologies

Union Gas Limited - Ed Seaward, Committee Vice-Chair


Wainewright Consulting