Regional electricity planning in the Renfrew region is underway to identify the future need of electricity for the area, and options to ensure an adequate and reliable supply continues for its residents and businesses.

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities. Learn more about engagement on the current planning cycle.

Regional Planning Process

The local distribution companies (LDCs) providing service to customers in the area include

  • Ottawa River Power Corporation
  • Renfrew Hydro Inc. 
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.

Area Overview

Renfrew Region MapFor regional planning purposes, the Renfrew region is made up of 18 municipalities including the towns of Arnprior, Deep River, Laurentian Hills, Petawawa and Renfrew. As well as the townships of Admaston/Bromley, Bonnechere Valley, Brudenell, Lyndoch and Raglan, Greater Madawaska, Head, Clara and Maria, Horton, Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards, Laurentian Valley, Madawaska Valley, McNab/Braeside, North Algona Wilberforce and Whitewater Region; as well as the City of Pembroke.


Regional Planning Activities in Renfrew Region

The regional planning cycle is underway for the region. Next steps will be determined as part of the finalization of the Scoping Assessment Outcome Report.

Previous cycle regional planning activities

A Needs Assessment was conducted for the Renfrew region in March 2016. The process was led by Hydro One Networks Inc., and included representatives from the IESO, Ottawa River Power Corporation and Renfrew Hydro Inc.

At that time, it was determined that no regional coordination would be required at that time as no near- or mid-term needs were identified.