Parry Sound/Muskoka sub-region

Regional electricity planning in the Parry Sound/Muskoka sub-region is underway to identify the future need of electricity for the area, and options to ensure an adequate and reliable supply continues for its residents and businesses.

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities. Learn more about engagement on the current planning cycle.

Regional Planning Process

The local distribution companies (LDCs) providing service to customers in the area include:

  • Alectra Utilities
  • Elexicon Energy
  • Lakeland Power
  • EPCOR Electricity Distribution Ontario Inc.
  • Newmarket-Tay Power Distribution Ltd.
  • Hydro One Networks

Area Overview

For regional planning purposes, the Parry Sound/Muskoka sub-region includes townships of the Archipelago, Algonquin Highlands, Armour, Carling, Georgian Bay, Joly, Lake of Bays, McKellar, McMurrich-Monteith, Minden Hills, Muskoka Lakes, Oro-Medonte, Perry, Ramara, Ryerson, Seguin, Severn, Strong, Tay, Tiny, and the United Townships of Dysart, Dudley, Harcourt, Guilford, Harburn, Bruton, Havelock, Eyre and Clyde, the villages of Burk’s Falls, and Sundridge, the towns of Bracebridge, Gravenhurst, Huntsville, Kearney, Midland, Parry Sound, and Penetanguishene, the municipalities of Highland East, Magnetawan, McDougall, and Whitestone, as well as the City of Orillia.

Documents referenced on this page, but not posted, can be obtained by contacting with a link to the web page that lists the document and advise whether it needs to be provided in an accessible format. Please allow a minimum of one business day for a response.