The second regional electricity planning cycle in Niagara is underway to identify the future needs of electricity in the area and options to ensure a reliable supply continues to be provided for its residents and businesses.

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities. Learn more about engagement on the current planning cycle

Regional Planning in Niagara

A new regional electricity planning cycle has begun for Niagara that will examine local growth and future electricity needs.

The IESO has developed a Scoping Assessment Outcome Report and Terms of Reference that identifies the need for a more comprehensive integrated regional resource plan (IRRP) and includes the terms of reference that outlines the timing and details of the work to develop this 20-year electricity plan for the region. This follows the completion of a Needs Assessment published by Hydro One in May 2021.

The previous planning cycle was completed in 2017 following the assessment of needs by the local transmitter (Hydro One) for this region and found that there were no needs that required regional coordination.

For more information, see Regional Planning Process

Area Overview

Niagara Map

For regional planning purposes, the Niagara region includes the City of Port Colborne, City of Welland, City of Thorold, City of Niagara Falls, Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, City of St. Catharines, Town of Fort Erie, Town of Lincoln, Township of West Lincoln, Town of Grimsby, Township of Wainfleet, and Town of Pelham. Haldimand County has also been included in the regional infrastructure planning needs assessment for Niagara region.

The local distribution companies providing service to customers in the Niagara region include:

  • Alectra Utilities
  • Canadian Niagara Power Inc.
  • Grimsby Power Inc.
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.
  • Niagara Peninsula Energy Inc.
  • Niagara-on-the-Lake Hydro Inc.
  • Welland Hydro-Electric System Corporation